Topic : Boot Camp XP machine can’t see Wireless

 

Topic Archived

This topic has been archived – replies are not allowed.

This question is answered. "Helpful" answers available: 2 . "Solved" answers available: 1 .


            Permlink

Replies : 6 – Last Post : May 13, 2008 1:19 PM by: Sharon Swensen

Topics : [ Previous | Next ]

chasfox


Posts: 8
Registered: Sep 14, 2007

Boot Camp XP machine can’t see Wireless
Posted: May 4, 2008 11:27 AM

 

My iMac/Boot Camp/XP machine can’t see the wireless connection to my Time Capsule. Ethernet connection is running fine, but can’t go wifi for some odd reason. Wifi is working fine with MacBook.

I know,if my ethernet is good I don’t "need" a wifi connection, but it’s the principle. What’s up?

imac   Windows XP  

Axel Foley


Posts: 1,124
Registered: Mar 12, 2006

Re: Boot Camp XP machine can’t see Wireless
Posted: May 4, 2008 11:29 AM   in response to: chasfox

 

Chasfox:

Just to confirm, did you install all the boot camp drivers after installing Windows on the Boot Camp partition?
In other words, did you boot into Windows until you got to the windows Desktop and then insert your Leopard installation disk which would have then automatically installed all of the boot camp drivers including the one for the WiFi connection. If you have done the above then we have a different issue.

Axel F.

MacBook Pro – 2GB RAM – Windows Vista SP1   Mac OS X (10.5.2)    

chasfox


Posts: 8
Registered: Sep 14, 2007

Re: Boot Camp XP machine can’t see Wireless
Posted: May 4, 2008 11:35 AM   in response to: Axel Foley

 

Yes, I did.

macbook   Mac OS X (10.5.2)  

Axel Foley


Posts: 1,124
Registered: Mar 12, 2006

Re: Boot Camp XP machine can’t see Wireless
Posted: May 4, 2008 12:21 PM   in response to: chasfox

 

See if the following Posts help with your situation:

1. Click HERE. This link discusses the issue that you may be having.
2. Time Capsule may be using WPA2 security and Windows XP has a hotfix for it. That download can be gotten from HERE.

Let me know if it worked.

Axel F.

MacBook Pro – 2GB RAM – Windows Vista SP1   Mac OS X (10.5.2)    

PatrickL


Posts: 78
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: Sep 21, 2005

Re: Boot Camp XP machine can’t see Wireless
Posted: May 12, 2008 11:29 AM   in response to: chasfox

 

My problem is similar: When using WinXP SP3 on my MacBook Pro running 10.5.2 under VMWare Fusion for Mac, XP SP3 can get wireless without an issue. However, if I boot into WinXP using BootCamp 2.1, no wireless for me.

The weird thing is that when I view the Wireless Properties in Windows (under Boot Camp), I can see my wireless network SSID flashing in the dialog box, as if it’s having trouble connecting to the wireless router, which is an Airport Extreme.

All other devices in my household can connect to my wireless network, except Win XP under Boot Camp. I have two TiVos (one wired, the other wireless), an iPhone, a MacPro and a MacBook Pro. Also, my girlfriend’s HP laptop running XP connects to the router, but very slowly, if at all.

My AE is configured to broadcast 802.11b/g at full power and uses WPA Personal. And remember, I’m on XP SP3. I wonder if the new Service Pack is an issue. Any help is appreciated!

Message was edited by: PatrickL

MacBook Pro 17   Mac OS X (10.5.2)   4GB RAM  

Sharon Swensen

Posts: 36
Registered: Jun 27, 2002

Re: Boot Camp XP machine can’t see Wireless
Posted: May 12, 2008 5:34 PM   in response to: PatrickL

 

We are having similar issues with my husband’s new iMac on which he installed XP/SP2 this past week-end. It cannot see our time capsule nor can his HP laptop. He is getting frustrated as am I. It took me over 20 years to convince Apple was the way to go but he just had to have his Windows available. :-(

TIA,
Sharon

G4 Tower – 933 and MacBook 2.2 GHz   Mac OS X (10.5.2)    

Sharon Swensen

Posts: 36
Registered: Jun 27, 2002

Re: Boot Camp XP machine can’t see Wireless
Posted: May 13, 2008 1:19 PM   in response to: Sharon Swensen

 

I was finally able to get the HP to use the wireless network by changing my security settings from WPA to WEP. My problem with the Boot Camp XP is that I can’t even setup a wireless connection. I don’t have the same options as on the HP even though they’re both XP/SP2.

G4 Tower – 933 and MacBook 2.2 GHz   Mac OS X (10.5.2)  

http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=1509952&tstart=78

 

About Neo Zhang

a Pure Man

Posted on 八月 20, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 发表评论.

发表评论

